One thought on “Interesting Grindr profile of the day

  1. This aptly brings attention to your previous post about the “Adonis Complex”. Here is a man demanding of other men something he isn’t able to offer himself. Yes, it is very hypocritical and sad, too.

    The internet is a great place for fantasies that don’t readily apply to the real offline world. There is a reason why I post my mug online in connection with my blog. It isn’t there to say that I’m attractive or worthy of admiration or whatever. It is there to say: “This is me. This is what I look like. Take it or leave it. I don’t care. I’m not hiding and I’m not afraid to say I am gay and have particular tastes that you might not like or respect. At least I have the integrity and honesty to be visible. It might be a vulnerable position in some ways, but it also a powerful one in many other ways.”

    All that a man’s invisibility says to me is that they have something to hide, are afraid of rejection or being identified as gay, are somewhat untrustworthy and weak, etc. For glory hole fantasies and casual encounters on the sly faceless and anonymous sex works for a lot of men. They might find it thrilling and exciting. I’ve never been one of those kind of guys. Faceless sex doesn’t work for someone who appreciates real relationships.

Leave a Reply

