Another Suicide. Not Just a Number. (via Talk About Equality)

There aren’t many problems I can think of that are more tragic than the loss of our gay youth to suicide. I certainly remember going through my teen and early adulthood years struggling with the pressure to conform to society’s expectations, and the hatred that was often aimed at our sexual orientation by others who either could not understand our experience, or were misinformed by bigots who said we were “choosing to be deviant”. Now I am in my late forties, and I am so grateful that I was somehow able to reconcile my upbringing, my spirituality, and my sexuality. I really had nobody I could talk to when I was coming out, but thankfully I found my way without that external support. Let’s all keep our eyes and ears open…and if we have the opportunity to give encouragement to these youth, then we must certainly take that opportunity….we just might be saving a life in doing so…

Another Suicide. Not Just a Number. On Wednesday night, openly-gay 19 year-old sophomore Raymond Chase took his own life by hanging himself in his dorm room. He was studying culinary arts at Johnson & Wales University in Rhode Island. And he became a number in a terrifying list of gay child suicides this month. In moments like this, it’s difficult to find more tears, more sorrow. It just goes straight through to anger now. But we cannot let any of these children just be another … Read More

via Talk About Equality

Leave a Reply

